Lucky Me

Lucky Me

A Novel

Book - 2005
Rate this:
Lucky Meis that rare book that captures--in the vein of Elinor Lipman and Elizabeth Berg--what it really means to be a modern woman. Julie Berman seems to have it all: a beautiful home in suburban New Jersey, a loving husband, a budding career as a freelance journalist, and two great kids. To the outside world, her life is perfect--little do they know that behind the façade, Julie is beginning to feel like her world is falling apart. Among her worries is a nagging fear that she's turning into her mother--just as neurotic, just as crazy, and just as consumed by appearances. Then there's the handsome, charming, and quite single editor at the local newspaper who has definitely taken a liking to her . . . which wouldn't be a problem if he wasn't so tempting. Add to that her moody, monosyllabic teenage son, who may or may not be having sex with a new girlfriend (whom Julie's not sure she approves of, sex or not). But the final blow to her sanity comes in the form of a phone call from her daughter, who informs Julie of her plans to run off with her boyfriend . . . who's also her college professor. Lucky Meis a journey into the year when everything seems to come to a head in Julie's life--and when she realizes that there are some things you can't control, especially the people you love. Wise, irreverent, tender, and funny,Lucky Meis for every woman who has ever felt--despite her most valiant efforts--less than perfect.
Publisher: New York : Shaye Areheart Books, c2005.
Edition: 1st ed. --
ISBN: 9781400082216
1400082218
Characteristics: viii, 274 p.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top