Book of Lost Threads

Book of Lost Threads

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:

In the small town of Opportunity, four mismatched people discover the unexpected power of kindness. A perfect tale for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

Moss has run away from Melbourne to Opportunity on the trail of a man she knows only by name. Her arrival sets in motion events that disturb the long-held secrets of three of the town's inhabitants: Finn, a brilliant mathematician, who has become a recluse; Lily Pargetter, 83-year-old knitter of tea cozies; and Sandy, the town buffoon, who dreams of a Great Galah. It is only as Moss, Finn, Lily, and Sandy develop unlikely friendships that they find a way to lay their sorrows to rest and knit together the threads that will restore them to life. Tender, funny, and memorable, this is a story about love and loss, parents and children, hope, faith, and the value of simple kindness.

Publisher: Crows Nest, N.S.W. : Allen & Unwin, 2011, c2010.
ISBN: 9781742376127
1742376126
Characteristics: 354 p.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

s
scorpio21
Jun 05, 2011

A very enjoyable read.Don't let the picture on the cover sway you from reading this story.The Title is the key here. In short,this story is about people who have lost their way in life and are struggling with their own worthiness,and some seeking forgiveness to move forward.Yes there is an old lady who knits,she has her own story to tell,and worth reading about.

p
pask
Apr 26, 2011

I expected to find it boring. But it was cute and whimsical. A maths lecturer runs someone over by mistake. His daughter he has never met turns up and an old lady knits tea cosies for the UN.

thebeadedlady Mar 12, 2011

A nice easy read with a good storyline

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top