The Nameless City

The Nameless City

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
13
Rate this:
Every time it is invaded the City gets a new name, but to the natives, it is the Nameless City, and they survive by not letting themselves get involved--but now the fate of the City rests in the hands of Rat, a native, and Kaidu, one of the Dao, the latest occupiers, and the two must somehow work together if the City is to survive.
Publisher: New York, New York : First Second, 2016.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9781626721579
1626721572
Characteristics: 232 pages :,colour illustrations
Additional Contributors: Bellaire, Jordie

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

AL_JOSHUAS Aug 21, 2017

A great teen finding who you are tale, with lessons of tolerance mixed in.

m
marthabwaters
Sep 26, 2016

This is a really standout graphic novel -- it's exciting, features a couple of well-drawn, very likable main characters, and the art is gorgeous. (The pages set at the festival with the lanterns were so beautiful that I lingered over them for a while.) Graphic novel fans will love this, as will fans of Tamora Pierce and other fantasy in that vein. Can't wait for the sequels!

AL_CATHERINE Sep 15, 2016

Faith Erin Hicks is one of my favorite graphic novel artist/authors and she didn't disappoint this time! Rat is the best! I loved the fast pace and diverse cast. The art was beautiful! I look forward to more in the series!

m
maddie_grace3
Aug 29, 2016

I enjoyed this book quite a lot! the characters were regular, a new boy in town and an orphaned girl who has lived there all here life. The book however was filled with an interesting and lovable characters. I am excited for the next book to come out, and I recommend this to fans of The Avatar: The Last Airbender and such.

a
Angelica_7
Aug 19, 2016

I LIKE THIS BOOK, I LIKE THE GIRL RAT IN THE BOOK BECAUSE SHE IS A BRAVE AND NICE GIRL.

t
tamgreat2u65
Aug 09, 2016

Can't wait until the second book comes out!

KateHillier Aug 08, 2016

Very typical sort of story, unlikely friends in a city that is always being conquered or not. The city (the Nameless City if you want to give it a proper name) is a great concept and so are the people in it. The Named (people who are from the city) as well as the people who think they own it. We spend a lot of time with the Dao in this case - and Kai, who came here to meet his father and couldn't really be any more disinterested in training to fight in the General's army. Kai meets Rat while roaming the city one day and the rest, it seems, is history. It takes time and effort to earn her respect and I really appreciated that.

They learn a lot from each other and I can't wait to learn more about this city.

samcmar Jul 07, 2016

Real Talk: You want this book.

No seriously, you want this book. I feel like this is Faith Erin Hicks’ greatest work to date, and The Nameless City is going to be one of those graphic novels that will capture the hearts and attention of many.

The Nameless City is a very layered graphic novel experience. Hicks’ looks at issues of diversity, poverty, politics, and racism in a way that is accessible to understand, but also heart-wrenching to read about. The city in this story is constantly being renamed every time a new ruler takes up the reigns, and yet the outcome of each new ruler is the same — citizens are poor to the point where they have to steal to survive, and the military continues to play oblivious for the sake of not getting involved between political conflict, be it dealing with the poor or other surrounding nations. It’s fascinating the way in which this aspect of how the story evolves.

I also LOVED the characters. I loved Rat’s tenacity, sass and courage, as much as I loved Kaidu’s kind and gentle spirit (a shame he works for the military!). Furthermore, I love the interactions between these two characters — it’s so genuinely written, and the book goes this amazing job of giving you so much understanding, but also taking that understanding away because of the political strife. It’s like being given bits and pieces, and that’s what you have to work with, but it’s okay because you know you are being promised more to the story. But seriously, I thought Rat and Kaidu were adorable and I wanted to cuddle them every few seconds.

But seriously, you need this book guys. It has stunning artwork, an amazing and detailed story, a great cast of lovable and sympathetic characters, and it just continues to offer so much to the reader. I can only hope that there is a second volume to this because the ending is very open, as if there needs to be more. Please, please, please let there be a sequel, because I don’t think I could live without knowing more about Kaidu and Rat’s adventures.

Another incredible graphic novel by Faith Erin Hicks! This is a fun mix of adventure and character development, and the art is gorgeous. Highly recommended for fans of Zita, Delilah Dirk, and Cleopatra in Space, especially.

KCLS_RobinH Jun 18, 2016

Excellent graphic novel for middle grade readers. Great pacing, interesting characters and story line, with a mysterious urchin girl heroine. Commentary on invading armies, control of trade routes, and comparisons to be made with our own recent military history. I'm looking forward to the next installment: The Stone Heart.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top