The Pursuit of Pearls

The Pursuit of Pearls

A Novel

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:

In the enthralling sequel to The Scent of Secrets , British actress/spy Clara Vine returns, moving gracefully through the treacherous upper echelons of Nazi high society. Rife with political intrigue and authentic period details, this novel is perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Eva Stachniak.

Clara Vine, a half-Jewish Anglo-German, uses her unique access to the wealthy elite of pre-war Nazi society to spy for her native Britain. In this second installment of her story, Clara, an ambitious young actress, insinuates herself into the lives of the Nazi wives through her association with the famous Ufa Studios. Her close friendship with Magda Goebbels makes her an attractive asset to the British intelligence service. Richly weaving the historical record with lush fictional details and a tantalizing love story, a cast of real Nazis and their British admirers--such as the Mitford sisters and the Duke and Duchess of Windsor--comes to life in this series.

Publisher: Toronto : Doubleday Canada, [2016]
Copyright Date: ♭2016
ISBN: 9780385682947
0385682948
Characteristics: 485 pages.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
TheresaAJ
Feb 28, 2017

Clara Vine, the product of a German mother and an English father, is working as a film actress and a British spy in 1939 Berlin. The story opens on the day of Hitler's 50th birthday celebration in Berlin where Clara has made the decision to stand in the crowd rather than the VIP box she was invited to join. When Hitler catches her eye, it confirms her feeling that someone has been following her the last few weeks. Being cast in Leni Riefenstahl's new movie, Germania, only heightens her anxiety. When Clara becomes involved in solving the murder of Lotte, a Faith and Beauty Girl, she finds herself alternating between the wives of the Reich's highest ranking generals and the working class slums. The author does an excellent job of portraying various beliefs, opinions, and actions of Germans on the eve of World War II. While Hitler has poured most of the country's resources into his military build-up, the average citizen is already feeling the deprivations of war. Since this is Book 4 in a series, I'll need to hunt down the earlier novels.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top