His Majesty's Hope

His Majesty's Hope

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
4
1
Rate this:
"NEW YORK TIMES "BESTSELLER
For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope returns to embark on a clandestine mission behind enemy lines where no one can be trusted, and even the smallest indiscretion can be deadly.
World War II has finally come home to Britain, but it takes more than nightly air raids to rattle intrepid spy and expert code breaker Maggie Hope. After serving as a secret agent to protect Princess Elizabeth at Windsor Castle, Maggie is now an elite member of the Special Operations Executive--a black ops organization designed to aid the British effort abroad--and her first assignment sends her straight into Nazi-controlled Berlin, the very heart of the German war machine. Relying on her quick wit and keen instincts, Maggie infiltrates the highest level of Berlin society, gathering information to pass on to London headquarters. But the secrets she unveils will expose a darker, more dangerous side of the war--and of her own past.
"Youll be Maggie Hopes] loyal subject, ready to follow her wherever she goes."--"O: The Oprah Magazine"
Publisher: Detroit : Gale Cengage Learning, 2013.
ISBN: 9781410462589
1410462587
Characteristics: 495 p. --

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

c
carol507
Apr 18, 2015

These Maggie Hope's mysteries are one of the best thrillers I've read; well written, well researched - can't wait to read the next one and hopefully continued ones.

d
DorisWaggoner
Mar 30, 2015

This is the least believable of the series so far. Maggie and her mother don't ring true, especially her mother's reaction to her daughter. Else, the sister she didn't know existed, is a bit truer to life, and the tension in the book stems partly from not knowing what Elsa will do. Will she side with the English soldier she's been protecting, or with the mother she's been loyal to? Getting Maggie out safely is a bit of a deux ex machina, , and she doesn't react well to seeing her former lover, who she'd thought dead. I still await the next one in the series, though.

s
Shelley51
Mar 21, 2014

I really enjoyed book 1 and I sort of enjoyed book 2. This book I didn't even finish. Part of the reason was the storyline about Hitler killing children. I know it is a fact but the topic wasn't pleasure reading for me.

c
Cat49
Sep 01, 2013

Set in 1941. Main character refers to sharing half her DNA with her half sister. Huh? Elise the nurse purloins antibiotics. Huh? Reference made to "baby bump" of friend Chuck. Huh? Freddie says David was "mugged". Huh? Sloppy research. Hard to suspend disbelief when you keep running up against dialogue that would take place more appropriately in the 21st century. Author should never be compared to Jacqueline Winspear, who is meticulous in her depictions.

Summary

Add a Summary

booklady413 Jun 29, 2013

This is the third book in this series and it did not disappoint.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top