Wake

Wake

A Novel

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
Now in paperback, Anna Hope's deeply moving and highly accomplished debut novel about the life-changing effects of World War I on three very different women earned critical acclaim internationally. For readers of  The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society  and Sebastian Faulks's  Birdsong .


November 1920. As the people of London prepare for the coming home of the body of the Unknown Soldier from France, the unexpected ties that bind together the lives of three very different women are gradually revealed: Hettie is a young dance instructress at the Hammersmith Palais whose life changes in unexpected ways when she meets a wealthy, educated man. Evelyn works at the Pensions Office, processing claims for thousands of shell-shocked and wounded men. Embittered by grief for her lost lover, she looks for solace to her adored brother who has not been the same since he returned from the front. Ada, who has never received an official letter about her son's death, still waits for him to come home, much to the despair of her loving husband. One day a young man comes to Ada's door, and with him opens a wartime mystery that connects these three women, and will both mend and tear their hearts.
Publisher: [Toronto, Ontario] : Emblem, 2016.
Edition: Emblem edition.
Copyright Date: ♭2014
ISBN: 9780771039683
0771039689
Characteristics: 293 pages ;,21 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

AL_KATI Oct 21, 2016

A beautiful, moving novel intertwined with the search for a body to be the UK's Unknown Soldier. I cannot wait for another novel from this author (*crosses fingers*).

m
maipenrai
Aug 14, 2016

ONE AUDIOBOOK THRU MINN LINK.....

lbarkema Jun 19, 2014

I found it to be an incredibly fast read. It started a bit slow and the switch between narratives made it difficult to follow at first but I soon became involved in each of the women's lives and how Post-WWI affected them. It is not as often that you find books about the Great War or the aftermath and I thought this to be refreshing. Overall, I would give this a 3.75 for an interesting read but it just didn't leave me with a long-lasting impression and the ending was far to abrupt for my taste.

j
jazpur
Apr 23, 2014

I'm still not sure about this book. Bleak is the best word to describe it.The loss and the misery caused by World War I to families, regardless of social position, comes through strongly.The lives of 3 women in the few days when the body of the Unknown Soldier was being brought back to Britain are intertwined as they think it could be their soldier. Loss of this kind is the same for soldiers' families to the present day.Perhaps it would work better as a film.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at OPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top