The Woman in the Window

The Woman in the Window

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller!

"Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing." --Gillian Flynn

"Unputdownable." --Stephen King

"A dark, twisty confection." --Ruth Ware

"Absolutely gripping." --Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade's most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn't paranoia if it's really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone--a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn't, her world begins to crumble--and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one--and nothing--is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

Publisher: New York, NY : William Morrow, [2018]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ♭2018
ISBN: 9780062678416
Characteristics: 427 pages


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

AL_LESLEY Mar 22, 2018

This mystery thriller is very well written and all the film references are great. But despite the super quick pacing it still felt too long and unfortunately I saw everything coming. I think maybe I'm just overdosing on unreliable female narrators.

brihawkins13 Mar 21, 2018

So many twists and turns! The short chapters and prose made it super easy to read. Perfect for thriller/suspense lovers and reluctant readers. I would love to see this book adapted into a movie.

Mar 11, 2018

I loved this book after reading all of Ruth Ware's books. I read this book in 1 sitting and when I came to the twist I did not see it coming which made it a really enjoyable read! I can't wait for more books from this author.

Feb 18, 2018

I couldn’t get through this book. It had too much of a “Girl on the Train” vibe. Too overdone. Plus, the main character, Anna, was so sarcastic. It just wasn’t a pleasant read

Feb 15, 2018

Although stunningly written, I have nothing positive to say about yet another novel that capitalizes on perpetuating stigma.

Beatricksy Feb 14, 2018

I'm tired of thrillers using the unreliability of its female narrators to tell a tale. Girl on the Train, Women in Cabin 10, The Breakdown.... I've seen this identical story too many times. It's exhaustively trying to ride on the pitted and broken tracks created by Gone Girl. Our leading lady's agoraphobia was compellingly unique, but it made for a very slow thriller where she mostly sits and waits for the plot to happen to her. The plot twists felt too improbable to be valuable--and worse, sometimes the characters are plain silly. "Oh! Someone was spying on me with a camera out her window! Guess I'll take her a bottle of wine and play chess with her for two hours." Whyyy. The villain monologue is horribly egregious and could easily have come from the mouth of a James Bond antagonist laying out the whole plot for us poor dumb readers who couldn't pick up a clue if it was glued to our hands. I found it insulting, all the more so because of all the praise and hype it's gained. I might be a fusspot who hates fun, but I find this to be substanceless and unoriginal. Like chewing on the cereal box rather than eating the cereal.

Feb 09, 2018

Smooth, intelligent narrative conjures colorful images to keep the reader's own voyeurism and nervous ticks on high alert. Suspense, thrills, some emotional ambushing and enough humor to enthrall from the first page to the last. Written to be read quickly.

"Sorry, Wrong Number" meets "Rear Window" and "Vertigo" with a smidge of "Gaslight" and a smattering of "The Lady Vanishes."

Feb 08, 2018

Brilliant and suspenseful! I just finished this amazing novel and was intrigued with the ever-changing plot and the unique characters. From the perspective of the story, I could see this adapted as a play and even a great film. Greatness!!!

Feb 06, 2018

With twists and turns - some expected, some not - this proved to be an entertaining and fast paced read.

Feb 05, 2018

'I usually don't read bestsellers, but I am glad I picked this book up. Full of suspense with twists and turns, this novel will grab onto you and not let go . I look forward to future books by this talented author.
Side note: make sure to read the novel before the movie is released.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

brihawkins13 Mar 21, 2018

brihawkins13 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at OPL

To Top